In the map view two different views are available depending on the zoom level:
- Up to zoom level 17: standard Mapnik style for overview and orientation
- Zoom level 18 – 20: Vector rendering for editing tags and tag values of arbitrary map features. All highlighted map features are selectable by touching them on the screen.
- The map jumps to your current position
- Function for zooming in and out and of the current zoom level
In the hardware menu bar the following functions are available:
Settings: Some general settings for the OSMapTuner and map rendering.
Download Data: Function for offline mapping. Between zoom level 16 and 18 the data of the current map view can be downloaded to the mobile device.
Validation: Enable or disable tag validation.
Login: Login to the OSM server. This function is necessary to synchronize the edited map features with the OSM server.
Map layers: List to switch on and off various map features. The option “Show all map layers” will overrule all other map layer settings.
About: Credits and link to user feedback forum.
The tag validation is based on the tagging scheme documented in the OSM-Wiki. The results of the tag validation are highlighted in three different colours on the map:
- Red: One or more recommended tags are missing or incorrect.
- Orange: One or more important optional tags are missing or incorrect.
- Green: All important tags and key-values are OK.
If the tag validation is disabled, all map features are displayed in grey.
You can login to the OSM server with your existing OSM user account. If you choose login
- the smartphone switches to the internet browser.
- After login you have to confirm that OSMapTuner will modify the map.
- After confirmation the smartphone changes back to the OSMapTuner.
When a map feature is selected, the detail view will open. The detail view is subdivided into the following sections: primary key, optional tags and free tags.
- All saved tags and tag values of primary and optional tags are highlighted in the tag validation colours red, orange or green.
- Link to the tag description in the OSM wiki
- Function for deleting a tag
- By touching a tag, a list of available values or an input field for the value will open. The list of values depends on the tag definition in the OSM wiki.
- At the end of the list, possible free tags are displayed.
- By clicking on the title of the free tag, a list of optional tags appear. If the free tag matches an optional tag the correct tag can be selected from the list. You are also free to rename free tags.
- An additional new free tag can be also added to the existing map feature.
- After the missing or incorrect value of a tag is filled in, the tag valdiation will be run again.
- After pressing the “Save”-Button the tag valdiation will be updated in the map view.
All edited map features can be uploaded to the OSM server, or saved as an OSM change file for further edits with a desktop editor (e.g. JOSM).
Function for data upload.
- If you are not logged in to the OSM server a message will appear. You can choose between two functions: login or saving your edits as OSM change file.
- The edited map features will be checked on the OSM server. The result displays the server-sided data state:
- Map features are in conflict with other data on the server.
- Map features are ok for upload
- For uploading, a short comment about the edits is necessary.
- Upload: The map features which are ok will be uploaded to the OSM server.
- Discard: All local changes will be discarded and new data will be downloaded from the OSM server.
After a successful upload of edit data, possible conflicts can be saved as an OSM change file on the smartphone’s SD card, or will be discarded:
- After saving the conflicts as an OSM change file, the conflicts will be deleted from the local memory on the smartphone and new data will be downloaded from the OSM server.
- If you discard the conflicts, all local changes will be deleted on the smartphone and new data will be downloaded from the OSM server.
If you press the back button in the map view you will close the OSMapTuner:
- If the check box „Delete data on close“ is enabled, all edits will be deleted when closing the app and on the next start new data will be loaded from the OSM server.
- If the check box „Delete data on close“ is disabled, all your edits will be saved on the smartphone. They will be available on the next start.
- You can set the default value of the check box „Delete data on close“ in the settings menu.